UACES Facebook O365 - Create and edit a contact group – Outlook 2011 (MAC)

Create and edit a contact group – Outlook 2011 (MAC)

Create a contact group

A contact group, also known as a distribution list, is a grouping of e-mail addresses collected under one name. A message sent to a contact group goes to all recipients listed in the group. You can include contact groups in messages, meeting requests, and in other contact groups.

Important: Contact groups created via Outlook 2011 are not saved to your account within Office 365. Any groups that you create are saved on your computer and are available only in Outlook for Mac on that specific computer.

    1. At the bottom of the navigation pane (navigation pane: The left pane of the Document Connection for Mac window that displays saved locations and files.), click Contacts.    Contacts icon 
    2. On the Home tab, click Contact Group.
      Home Tab
      If Contact Group is not available

To create a contact group, you must set your preferences to show the On My Computer folders.

        1. On the Outlook menu, click Preferences.
        2. Under Personal Settings, click General.    General icon
        3. Under Folder list, clear the Hide On My Computer folders check box.
      1. Enter a name for the contact group.
      2. Do any of the following:

        Table
      1. Click Save & Close.

 Save & Close

The group appears in your Outlook contacts, and you can send messages to the group exactly as you would to one person.

 Notes 

        • You can view the contact names in the header of a message or meeting request. In the To box, click the arrow next to the name of the Contact Group. After the list is expanded, you can't collapse the list again in that message.

Edit a contact group

      1. On the Navigation bar, click Contacts.

 Contact Icon

      1. Find the group you want to edit and double-click the group to open it.
      2. After making the desired changes, click Save and Close.

 Save & Close

Delete a contact group

Important: Since personal groups are only stored locally on the computer you are on, once the group is deleted, it cannot be restored.

      1. On the Navigation bar, click Contacts.

 Contact Icon

      1. Find the group you want to delete and double-click the group to open it.
      2. Click Delete.

 Delete Icon

    1. Click Delete to confirm the delete action.