UACES Facebook O365 Setup - Calendar Folder Permission Levels

Office 365 - Calendar Folder Permission Levels

If someone has shared their calendar with you or designated you as a delegate for that calendar, then you have permission to perform certain activities in that calendar. The extent of the activities you can perform with the calendar you are a delegate for, depends on your role (or combination of permissions) for that calendar.

Calendar permission levels


Read refers to what a person can see in your calendar.

  • None - User cannot see any of your appointments, including whether you are free or busy. This can only be set for all users (the name, "Default"), not for individuals; cannot be opened in schedule assistant.
  • Free/Busy time - User can see if you have an appointment at a certain time, but cannot see the location nor the name of the appointment.
  • Free/Busy time, subject, location - User can see if you have an appointment, its subject/title, and its location.
  • Full Details - User can view all information about an appointment.


This set of permissions refers to whether or not one can create events in your calendar, and modify these entries. You can select more than one option at a time.

  • Create items - Individual can create appointments and meeting requests on your calendar.
  • Create subfolders - Not Applicable
  • Edit Own - User can modify/change any items they created in your calendar, such as appointment time, subject, etc.
  • Edit All - Same as above, but can edit all entries created by yourself and other users.

Delete Items

  • None - User cannot remove entries in your calendar, regardless of whether or not they created it.
  • Own - User can delete any entry they have created.
  • All - User has access to delete all entries, even ones you have created.


Folder Owner - This option will automatically be selected if you are a "Contributor" or above. It allows one to open an entire calendar in a Outlook and Outlook Web Access (OWA) to see details of meetings.