UACES Facebook Meetings set to discuss forming blackberry growers association

Meetings set to discuss forming blackberry growers association

By the U of A System Division of Agriculture.
March 16, 2018

Fast Facts:

  • A series of meetings to discuss formation of a blackberry growers association
  • 6 meetings around Arkansas hosted by Cooperative Extension Service

With blackberry Photo: https://flic.kr/p/S8kzYW

Twitter link: https://twitter.com/SARE_Blackberry/status/973223955405459457

(244 words)

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture will hold a series of meetings around the state to present information about developing an Arkansas blackberry growers association.

Breeding line
ASSOCIATION -- A series of meetings will be held around the state to discuss forming a blackberry growers association.

“We hope that the formation of a growers association will provide a way for blackberry growers in the region to interact, learn from each others experiences and grow the blackberry industry in the state,” said Amanda McWhirt, extension horticultural crop specialist, for the Division of Agriuculture.

The meetings will be hosted by county extension agents at six locations:

  • April 9, 1 p.m., HARRISON - At the Boone County Extension Office;
  • April 10, 1 p.m., FAYETTEVILLE - at the Washington County Extension;
  • April 17, 10 a.m., HOPE - at the Southwest Research and Extension Center;
  • April 19, 1 p.m., WALNUT RIDGE - at the Lawrence County Extension Office;
  • April 24, 1 p.m., SEARCY - at the White County Fairgrounds; and
  • April 25, 1 p.m., CLARKSVILLE - at the Division of Agriculture’s Fruit Research Station.

Information about the meetings can be found on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SARE_Blackberry/status/973223955405459457

For more information, contact Mike McClintock in Harrison at mmcclintock@uaex.edu or 870-741-6168, or Berni Kurz in Fayetteville at bkurz@uaex.edu or 479-444-1755.

At Hope, contact Jennifer Caraway at jcaraway@uaex.edu or 870-779-3609, or Rachel Bearden at rbearden@uaex.edu or 501-332-5267. In Walnut Ridge, contact Bryce Baldridge at bbaldridge@uaex.edu or 870-886-3741, or Mike Andrews at mandrews@uaex.edu or 870-892-4504.

In Searcy, contact Sherri Sanders at ssanders@uaex.edu or 501-268-5394. At Clarksville, contact Blair Griffin at bgriffin@uaex.edu or 479-754-2240.

 

About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses. 

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs to all eligible persons without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

 

By Fred Miller
U of A System Division of Agriculture

Media Contact: Fred Miller
Communication Services
U of A Division of Agriculture
(479) 575-5647
fmiller@uark.edu

Related Links