UACES Facebook Annual meeting highlight of Faske’s term as society president
skip to main content

Annual meeting highlight of Faske’s term as society president

By Fred Miller
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Feb. 27, 2018

Fast Facts:

(197 words)
(Newsrooms: With additional art available for download at 
(Download this story in MS Word here.)

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Travis Faske can catch his breath now that he is immediate past president of the Southern Division of the American Phytopathological Society.

APS Southern Division 2018 Meeting_032

Faske was the society’s president in 2017 and was inducted at the Southern APS meeting in 2017. He said his biggest responsibility was planning the 2018 annual meeting, which was held Feb. 17-18 in Fayetteville. As of that meeting, Faske is now immediate past president.

This year’s meeting was co-hosted by Arkansas and Indiana APS members.

Faske said the APS is an organization of scientists who love plant pathology and offers opportunities to share and collaborate on research. He said APS also focuses on supporting plant pathology students.

“The students are the main driving force of the Southern Division,” Faske said.

He said one of the most important functions of the annual meeting is to give graduate students an opportunity to present their research in a professional meeting. They also have opportunities to meet and learn from plant pathology researchers from across the country.

Faske said the meeting was made possible largely by support from several sponsors. “We would have had to charge members substantially more to attend without their support,” he said.


About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses. 

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs to all eligible persons without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer. 

# # #


Media Contact: Fred Miller 
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Cooperative Extension Service