UACES Facebook Arkansas Produce Safety Training
skip to main content

Arkansas Produce Safety Training

Join the University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service's Produce Safety Team to learn about new practices and regulations for fruit and vegetable producers. Contact Dr. Amanda Philyaw Perez with questions, phone: 501-671-2228.

What topics will be covered?

Topics covered will include: agricultural water, soil amendments, worker health and hygiene, wildlife management, postharvest handling, and food safety plans.

Who should attend?

For fresh produce farms, FDA’s Food Safety Modernization Act Produce Safety Rule sets mandatory federal standards for growing, harvesting, packing, and holding produce.

Most produce farms will be affected by this Rule. Growers need to attend a training to learn about new regulations impacting the produce industry and will receive a certificate of completion which satisfies the FDA requirement for training. This training, developed by the Produce Safety Alliance (PSA) and presented by the University of Arkansas Extension Service, will help growers understand the new requirements, and will provide the information needed to comply with the Produce Safety Rule. 


When are the trainings?

*Please note that in-person trainings are temporarily suspended due to COVID-19 restrictions.*

In-Person Training: Workshop participants are encouraged to arrive by 8:00 a.m. The workshop will begin at 8:30 a.m.The workshop will include snacks, lunch, and beverages. The program will conclude by 5:00 p.m. 

Remote Training: The remote workshop is held over two days, starting at 8:00 a.m. and ending at 12:30 p.m. on both days. Participants must attend both days to receive the training certificate. 

What is the cost?

*Please note that in-person trainings are temporarily suspended due to COVID-19 restrictions.*

In-Person Trainings: The in-person workshop is $35 and open to the public; however, space is limited. Register to reserve your spot today!

Remote Trainings: The remote training is $20 per person in-state (Arkansas) / $100 per person out-of-state and open to the public; however, space is limited and preference will be given to Arkansas farmers. Register to reserve your spot today!

Select the links below for additional information and registration:

 

 

 

Top